Sign In   |   Join
MnAEYC Awards
Share |
MnAEYC Awards

Nomination Forms:
Distinguished Service Award | Evelyn House Award | Kate Davidson Tanner Award

Annual State Conference Award Nomination FAQs

2018 MnAEYC Evelyn House Award Recipient:
Mike Huber, St. David's Center for Child & Family Development

Mike has a MAEd from Hamline University and has dedicated his life to serving children, families, and the field of early childhood.

Mike has been an early childhood teacher since 1992. He has worked as a trainer and consultant for the Minnesota Department of Education, the Child Care Resource and Referral Network, and MnAEYC, working with educators throughout the state. He has written for Teaching Young Children magazine. He is the author of Embracing Rough and Tumble Play: Teaching with the Body in Mind (Redleaf Press, 2016), as well as six picture books including The Amazing Erik (Redleaf Press, 2014). He has presented to thousands about the importance of big body play for children. In addition, Mike has presented at six annual conferences for NAEYC.

Mike is a former recipient of the Kate Tanner Award from MnAEYC. He has served on the Board of Directors for MnAEYC-MnSACA and currently serves on their Policy & Advocacy Advisory Group. He is also on the Board of Directors for Child Care Aware of Minnesota.

2018 MnAEYC Distinguished Service Award Recipient:
Jeremiah Program

Jeremiah Program offers one of the nation's most successful strategies for transforming families from poverty to prosperity two generations at a time. Jeremiah prepares determined single mothers to excel in the workforce, readies their children to succeed in school, and reduces generational dependence on public assistance.

Jeremiah's proven, holistic approach begins with establishing a supportive community for determined single mothers to pursue a career-track, college education. Through a combination of quality early childhood education, a safe and affordable place to live, and empowerment and life skills training, families find stability and a path out of poverty.

The Minneapolis campus opened in 1998. It has since expanded to St. Paul, Fargo-Moorhead, Boston and Austin.


Evelyn House Awardees

2018: Mike Huber
2002: Sharon Henry-Blythe 1986: Eldora Recksiedler
2017: Beth Menninga 2001: Eileen Nelson 1985: Tutti Sherlock
2016: Kyra Ostendorf 2000: Helen Carlson 1984: Dan Gartrell
2015: Barbara Murphy 1999: Barbara O'Sullivan 1983: Rhoda Redleaf
2014: No award was given 1998: Dr. Pamm 1982: Margaret Roth
2013: Deborah Hewitt 1997: Jean Peterson 1981: Gary Winget
2012: Angèle Passe 1996: Lynn Galle 1980: Estelle Griffin
2011: Sandy Myers 1995: Ruby Hughes 1979: Erna Fishhaut
2010: Claire Chang 1994: Linda Sisson 1978: Shirley Moore
2009: Dr. Betty Cook 1993: Barb Wilkinson 1977: Constance Richardson
2008: Beth Mork/Judy Lindman 1992: Katie Williams 1976: Sophie Riedel
2007: Sandra Heidemann 1991: Dr. Willard Hartup 1975: Pearl Hall
2005: Christine Bentley 1990: Dr. Marjorie Oelerich 1974: Dr. Winifred Northcott
2004: Kathy Kolb 1989: Diane McLinn 1972: Helen Remley
2004: Lois Engstrom 1988: Frances Oson 1970: Evelyn House
2003: Beverly WilsonMinden 1987: Kate Tanner


Kate Davidson Tanner Awardees

2017: Ross Thompson
2016: Karen Walburg
2015: Diane Sauer
2014: Joey (Joanne) Schoen
2013: Tom Bedard
2012: Mike Huber
2009: Rica Van
2007: Nancy Penn
2006: Pamella Willard
2005: Marilyn Doran


Distinguished Service Awardees

2018: Jeremiah Program
2017: Greater Twin Cities United Way
2016: Tina Keeler
2015: Southside Family Nurturing Center
2014: Dr. Karen Cadigan, Bloomington-Richfield Public Schools
2013: Kathy Lentz, Greater Twin Cities United Way
2012: The Science Museum of Minnesota
2009: Ann Kaner-Roth
2007: Congregations Concerned for Children
2006: Jean Taylor, Taylor Corp.
2005: Calvin Rice & Jason Daniel, Lakeshore Learning
2004: Bob Bullard, FR Bigelow Foundation & Arthur Rolnick, Federal Reserve
2003: Minh Ta, Children's Defense Fund
2002: Rep. Mary Jo McGuire
2001: Bush & McKnight Foundations
1992: McKnight Foundation
1991: Sen. Linda Berglin
1990: Glen Taylor, Taylor Corp.
1989: Sen. Allen Spear
1988: The Bush Foundation
1987: Sen. Jerome Hughes


MnAEYC Award Winners through the Years

Regional/District Service Awards

Northwest - Jill Kremer

Metro - Katie Sewell
Southern - Fairmont Early Childhood Family Education
Midwest - Kathleen Ofstedal
Northwest - Sarah Berg Olson
Northeast - Diane Langlee

Metro - Heidi Malloy, Instructor - Metro State University, St. Paul
Southern - Sarah Van Niewaal, Program Officer - First Steps/Rochester Area Foundation
Midwest - Cindy Hickok, Caring and Sharing Association
Northwest - Gayle Nelson
Northeast - Becky Gamache, DAEYC

Region 1: PICA Head Start, Minneapolis
Region 2W: Southern MN Valley Association for Early Childhood
Region 2E: Southern MN Initiative Fund, Owatonna
Region 3: Linda Wilson
Region 4: Tamie Finn
Region 5: Pat Jaekel

Region 1: Barb Murphy
Region 2E: Kate Zabertini
Region 3: Joan Thompson
Region 5: Bernie & Julie Walker

Region 1: Lasting Impressions Child Care, St. Paul & St. John's Child Care & Nursery, Minneapolis
Region 2W: Dr. Francene Evans
Region 2E: Judy Lindman
Region 3: Rondi Wussow
Region 4: Leah Pigatti
Region 5: Dorothy Wolden

Region 1: Marilyn Wolkerstorfer, Anoka-Hennepin School Readiness Program
Region 2W: Gail Goltz, CCR&R, Marshall
Region 3: Pam Walz, Bright Beginnings, Cold Springs
Region 4: Cherry Brouwer, Instructor - Bemidji State University
Region 5: Duluth YWCA

Region 2W: Linda Jagielo

Region 5: Nancy Thomas, Teacher - Duluth/DAEYC

Region 2E: Judy Lindman, Instructor - Riverland Technical College, Rochester
Region 3: West Central MN Child Care Center Directors Association
Region 5: Sharon Soderberg, YWCA Preschool and Toddler Center, Duluth

Region 1: Ardis Kysar, St. David's School, Minnetonka
Region 2E: Joan Gravett, Civic League Day Nursery, Rochester
Region 3: Sarla Agarwal, Country Day Nursery School, Morris
Region 5: Vicki Vavra, Happy Time Day Care, Duluth

Region 1: Linda Reusch, North Como Preschool, St. Paul
Region 2W: Abby Draper, ECFE, Mankato
Region 5: Maureen Litman, Instructor - Duluth Technical College/U of M, Duluth

Region 1: Kris Berry, Wilder Child Development, St. Paul
Region 2W: LaVonne O'Brien, Child Care Center, Mapleton
Region 5: Bobbi Hoyt, Instructor - Duluth Secondary Vocational School

Region 1: Payne Phalen Family Center, St. Paul
Region 2E: Shawna Kishel
Region 2W: Geri Felstul
Region 5: Diane Langlee

Region 1: Ardis Kysar, St. David's School, Minnetonka
Region 2E: Children's House
Region 3: Marcia Elg
Region 5: C. Diane Schusta

Region 1/Metro: Roz Anderson, Adventure Club, Robbinsdale
Region 2E: Eliane Schmidt, Director - Children Home Society Nursery School & Daycare, Rochester
Region 2W: Alice DeMeglio, Kindergarten Teacher, Minnesota Lake/Mankato
Region 3: Karen Koenen, Koenen's County Preschool, Miltona
Region 4: Mary Ann Hodge, Director - Discovery Place, Penningont Co./Theif River Falls
Region 5: Rita Lefevre, YWCA Child Care Center, Duluth

North: Delores Anderson, Director - Happy Time Day Care Center, Duluth
Central: Young People's Place, Alexandria
South: Rachel Seeback (posthumous), ECFA, Mankato

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal